Reincarnation.

I’m in Cleveland attending a leadership conference for my job. The amount of knowledge and inspiration I’ve received in the last day alone makes me want to fly back home and get back to work. I can only imagine what the rest of the week holds.

I was in this same house when my Ma called me to tell me my Dad checked into the hospital with what turned out to be a devastating case of sarcoma cancer. It’s forcing grief. I’m attending my father’s memorial service a week after leaving this leadership conference. I feel very conflicted and don’t want to confront the grief that I know will be drawn to my surface. I haven’t done much working through it since cancer killed him, instead just working nonstop and trying to be a good father. I’m delivering the eulogy for mine.

Consolation doesn’t exist. Grief is not a wound to be patched up. It just exists and I will always miss him with a pain that sears through…all of me. Flashbacks of his first night in hospice as my brother and I held his hand continue to surface – and the emotions along with it. I kept staring at him. The whole time I was in California with him I stared. He was real back then and now only slightly less so in my memories and yet I must daily reckon with reality because he isn’t here anymore. He isn’t real. My heart feels completely covered in bruises and every time it beats it might be better for it to collapse than tolerate the wrenching scream that it releases each time, reminding me that I’m alive without my Dad. That probably sounded pretty dramatic.

Back to work.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Reincarnation.

  1. I know the feeling. I just got done attending 2 days of hoop workshops. The last time I went to a hoop workshop I was driving out to CA 2 days after to see dad in the hospital. It’s amazing what triggers grief. Love you bro.

  2. I just went through a major meltdown here with Nick and Tiffany. The grief is so strong in all of us anyways, and I suspect that because we’re drawing closer to the time of your dad’s service, it’s multiplying mightily. Grace for all of us and let’s stay in close touch~

Leave a Reply

