A hard goodbye.

My sister reflects on being at my dad’s cremation this morning.

MoonStruck Rising

Hey dad,

You are being cremated as I type this. It started about 9:30 am and apparently it takes about an hour and a half to complete. I didn’t know what to expect. I have never seen anyone cremated before. There is a part of me that wonders if you can sense this happening to your body? Your spirit flew some time ago and I said my farewell but something about this seemed so final. We had some time beforehand to say goodbye. We covered your body in saffron colored fabric that had gold thread weaved throughout it. A white sash was then laid on top of that. Arms full of flowers covered you from head to toe. It was devastatingly beautiful. I couldn’t stop shaking. The room was really hot and I wondered if I was going to pass out. I felt like I had been strong for so…

View original post 779 more words

Leave a Reply

